Yun Yi's Stuff

Mildred Pierce (2011) – A Mother-Daughter Complex

Posted on: September 25, 2011

I had a glance at Mildred Pierce on HBO a while ago and was attracted by the “look” of this TV show. After seeing Kate Winslet’s winning Emmy award this year, I decided to watch this show from beginning to end. After I did it I was totally satisfied!

KW did a fantastic job on the rule of Midred Pierce – a hard working woman who put all her love on her daughter yet at the time spoils her daughter until it’s too late. Her performing was so convincing that every moment of Mildred’s appearance on screen was virtually real. I believe I saw one of the best acting on “mother” (another on I could recall was Night, Mother by Anne Bancroft).

Different from most other contemporary movies or TV shows that mostly focus on mystery, romance or violence, the story of Mildred Pierce focuses on protagonist’s passion – passion for her daughter and her career, and eventually, the cruelty of fate. At the end, despite of the fact that all things go wrong, life of Mildred Pierce continues.
I think it is precisely this theme (passion) that gave KW plenty of room to display her talent of acting.

After I finished watching the TV series, I found there is an original movie in 1945 by the same name. I too watched the movie. I must say, KW’s performance is not any less than Joan Crawford’s, except KW’s reached a deeper level of exploring the complexity of a mother’s emotion.

Prior to watching Mildred Pierce, I watched Revolutionary Road and The Reader. KW’s was leading actress in both movies and I was highly impressed. I will be totally proud of being called a Kate Winslet  fan. That’s how much I love her. 

4 Responses to "Mildred Pierce (2011) – A Mother-Daughter Complex"

Yunyi, have you seen the original film with Joan Crawford? It's excellent.

I watched (you probably did not finish reading my blog;-)). It was a great movie with mysterious story line. However I like KW so much so I did enjoy TV show more.

I've seen both versions and both are wonderful–and different from each other.

I love Kate Winslet, also! And agree that Mildred Pierce series was excellent. (Wish we had more quality programming like that!)

Yes, because of several factors, and especially the time factor, I think KW's Mildred Pierce is a character more flushed out and complex. This version said so much more.

Back in the Days of Crawford, with the “code”, things could only be hinted at. Sometimes charming, sometimes annoying.

Anyway, you have good taste! ;0)

Thanks Psachno! I am glad you like this show too.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 10,379 hits

Follow Yun Yi's Stuff on WordPress.com

Follow me on Twitter

© 2003 – 2014 Yun Yi

Protected by Copyscape Online Plagiarism Detector
PHILOSOPHY

Philosophy Blog Dedicated to Critical and Reflective Thinking

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

~ L to the Aura ~

sustainability. compassion. inspiration.

The Green World

the dilemmas of modern times

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

The Magician's Home

A house filled with thrills, mysteries and heart-wrenching secrets that will forever change the course of June Corpelle's life

Success Inspirers World

Land of opportunity

Credit Continue

Samantha Clarke

The Road

Obedience is Better Than Sacrifice

Audio SeXXX

Eargasms found here!

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

The Dystopian Nation of City-State

A cruel, futuristic vision created by science fiction authors James Courtney and Kaisy Wilkerson-Mills. ©2013-2016. All Rights Reserved. All writings available through Amazon.

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Godinterest Blog

All God-centered articles and blog posts from Godinterest

Libretto

Expression of Thought through Words

Jesus Christ for Muslims Pakistan

Inviting Muslims To The Kingdom of Christ

Chris Brake Show Podcast

LIVE! Every Wednesday @ 8pm Eastern / 7pm Central on StrangeLabel.com

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

justbadtiming

life as i know it

Eye-Dancers

A site devoted to the Young Adult sci-fi/fantasy novel The Eye-Dancers

