Yun Yi's Stuff

From Unknown Illnesses To The Limits Of Reason

Posted on: November 4, 2014

Hippocrates: a conventionalized image in a Rom...
Hippocrates: a conventionalized image in a Roman “portrait” bust (19th century engraving) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My mother died in 2010 and I was too ill to go back. When my relatives asked me what kind of illness I had, I had to use bunches of words to describe my condition, because there was no term for my my problem. I did not convince them, so judgment came along.

I consider myself a quite convincing person, but why didn’t I convince them on this “simple” matter? Years later I found the reason was simple: I did not have a name for my illness. Had I just thrown them a term like “myalgic encephalomyelitis”, I could easily shut all of them up. But sadly that’s not what I got. What I’ve got had no name – at least according to  modern medicine, which most people worship, so my explanation became excuse.

Interestingly, I just realized, a name, or a term, is the base of our reason, so it usually is the first step of our reasoning. Helen Keller was awakened from a simple term “water”; children start to learn languages from names, one by one, until they get ideas about “whole” world. If we don’t even know a name for a thing, or some “happenings”, we would find them unreasonable, even uncanny, and eventually we may get frustrated even frightened about them. This is why people who have unknown illnesses looks “skeptical” in others’ eyes. Take myself as example. I was in critical condition for years, but because there was no name for my condition, not only that I had to take care of myself, but also I had to make living by myself, because I didn’t have a “decent diagnose” from doctors so there was no way I could get any help from government. As if these were not enough, I also had to endure many people’s judgment.

For many people, “unknown” means “unreasonable”, and “unreasonable” means “crazy”. No doubt those who suffer unknown illnesses are usually considered as mentally ill (or at least mentally troubled). Were many illnesses with “noble” terms today used to be thought as being possessed by demons? Yes, because people had not known them “rationally”, that is, had no reasonable names for them.

Truth is, no matter how smart we think we are, we still know very little about this world. “Unknown” doesn’t mean “crazy”, it only means it’s new to our reason. I think what we should do when facing something without a reasonable terms, is simply to accept our ignorance, instead of to ridicule facts in order to prove that our existing knowledge is adequate. We should not use our existing knowledge to judge reality, instead, we should do the reverse way, judge our knowledge by facts.

My mother died of “stroke”. Glad she got a name.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 10,377 hits

Follow Yun Yi's Stuff on WordPress.com

Follow me on Twitter

© 2003 – 2014 Yun Yi

Protected by Copyscape Online Plagiarism Detector
PHILOSOPHY

Philosophy Blog Dedicated to Critical and Reflective Thinking

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

~ L to the Aura ~

sustainability. compassion. inspiration.

The Green World

the dilemmas of modern times

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

The Magician's Home

A house filled with thrills, mysteries and heart-wrenching secrets that will forever change the course of June Corpelle's life

Success Inspirers World

Land of opportunity

Credit Continue

Samantha Clarke

The Road

Obedience is Better Than Sacrifice

Audio SeXXX

Eargasms found here!

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

The Dystopian Nation of City-State

A cruel, futuristic vision created by science fiction authors James Courtney and Kaisy Wilkerson-Mills. ©2013-2016. All Rights Reserved. All writings available through Amazon.

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Godinterest Blog

All God-centered articles and blog posts from Godinterest

Libretto

Expression of Thought through Words

Jesus Christ for Muslims Pakistan

Inviting Muslims To The Kingdom of Christ

Chris Brake Show Podcast

LIVE! Every Wednesday @ 8pm Eastern / 7pm Central on StrangeLabel.com

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

justbadtiming

life as i know it

Eye-Dancers

A site devoted to the Young Adult sci-fi/fantasy novel The Eye-Dancers

