Yun Yi's Stuff

Holiday Kindness And My Gratitude

Posted on: December 25, 2014

English: Hot Pot. Magyar: Hot pot és az alapan...
 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have been complaining about how much misunderstanding a chronic illness sufferer would receive in her/his daily life, which is true, but, still, there are plenty of understanding out there, to which I am not blind. The incidence of last night was one of them.

Yesterday (Christmas Eve) I was invited by a parent of my student to a Christmas dinner party. It was a joined family parties by at least 3 families, which I know them all. I thought I was in good condition so I happily agreed to come. So late afternoon, I went to bought some presents, and arrived their house a little after 5pm.

The 8 year-old daughter of the hosting family who is also my student opened the door with joy (she later mentioned to me that she had a big surprise to see me). Then I said hi to a few people I knew, very happy to see a couple of my previous students, who only grew taller. Since it was still earlier, I just sat there and talked with a few people intermittently. About half hour later, I started feeling not “right”, and to my dismay I realized that my good condition was about to end. For about 20 minutes’ length, I struggled between stay or leave, but soon after I found it’s harder and harder for me to breath, I knew I must leave, otherwise I would give hosts and guests some trouble.

So I went to talk to lady host – who is an extremely kind and agreeable young woman, that I must leave, but I didn’t want to disturb all people. She first thought that I must need to lie down, so she pointed out a small bedroom, asked me to lie down for a while. I said that wouldn’t work, because things could get worse. So she “frantically” asked me to take some foods, but I said I didn’t want to trouble them. However she still quickly packed some baked sweet potatoes and home-made cake for me, walked to the door with me. Along the way, several people realized that I was leaving, asking what happened, so I reassure them that I just needed to rest, nothing serious, and apologized for my unexpected condition. Several people who knew me immediately come to me and asked what’s wrong, one of them even asked if I needed a ride to home. I said I can handle driving. The lady host watched me getting into my car, and I drove away.

It’s a shame that I missed the foods, hot pot, my hometown style, with all kinds of fresh meats and vegs. However, after a night of struggle and a good sleep, I feel pretty good today, and know that I made the right decision. What’s especially warm to think about is how kind these people were: though they did not know what’s really going on with me, they still showed their support. No one were offended. It’s worth to mention that last night’s invitation was the third time that lady made for me (the previous were for Thanksgiving) and this is the first time I decided to go. Still, when she saw I had to leave, she showed her great concern and her unconditional understanding.

I feel extremely grateful and thought it’s worth to write it down. I also like to take this chance to thank all my blogger friends, wish you all a happy holiday!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 10,296 hits

Follow Yun Yi's Stuff on WordPress.com

Follow me on Twitter

© 2003 – 2014 Yun Yi

Protected by Copyscape Online Plagiarism Detector
PHILOSOPHY

Philosophy Blog Dedicated to Critical and Reflective Thinking

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

~ L to the Aura ~

sustainability. compassion. inspiration.

The Green World

the dilemmas of modern times

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

The Magician's Home

A house filled with thrills, mysteries and heart-wrenching secrets that will forever change the course of June Corpelle's life

Success Inspirers World

Where you find help and support to grow

Credit Continue

Samantha Clarke

The Road

Obedience is Better Than Sacrifice

Audio SeXXX

Eargasms found here!

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

The Dystopian Nation of City-State

A cruel, futuristic vision created by science fiction authors James Courtney and Kaisy Wilkerson-Mills. ©2013-2016. All Rights Reserved. All writings available through Amazon.

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

PROJECT: A Journal for Project Management

Project is a journal for project managers to express their ideas and share their work through writing, conversation, design and image

Libretto

Expression of Thought through Words

Jesus Christ for Muslims Pakistan

Inviting Muslims To The Kingdom of Christ

Chris Brake Show Podcast

LIVE! Every Wednesday @ 8pm Eastern / 7pm Central on StrangeLabel.com

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

justbadtiming

life as i know it

Eye-Dancers

A site devoted to the Young Adult sci-fi/fantasy novel The Eye-Dancers

